Farm Bureaus Recognized for Excellence


 Pictured from left to right are  Hancock County Farm Bureau Member, Leia Morrison; Hancock County Past President, Joe Zumwalt; American Farm Bureau President, Bob Stallman; Hancock County Farm Bureau Manager, Kristin Huls and McDonough County Farm Bureau Manager, Sarah Grant.

The McDonough and Hancock County Farm Bureaus  received a joint County Activities of Excellence Award for their collaboration on Farm Trek 2015. They were one of 28 projects to be recognized throughout the nation.

The award was presented during the 97th annual meeting of the American Farm Bureau Federation held recently in Orlando, Fla.

A group of Harvard University students visited Hancock and McDonough counties during Farm Trek in March 2015. Illinois Farm Bureau staff  spoke to the students about the Farm Bill and agriculture policy. Local Farm Bureau members hosted the students in their homes and provided tours of their farms.

Hancock County native TJ Menn, then a student at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government, organized the trip.